In the menu of a message (Message actions), choose Reply. A Replying to NAME banner appears above the writing area and the message you reply to is highlighted. Send your text as usual. To cancel: the cross of the banner or Esc (Cancel reply).
If the original message is deleted later, the reply shows Original message deleted.